Thread: Testing appartus . . . calculations?

Associate Engineer allouissious's Avatar

Testing appartus . . . calculations?

Good afternoon,

I'm relatively new to the forum . . and I have a question. Go figure!

I would like an explanation of how to calculate loading on a testing apparatus. It has been way too long since I took those basic engineering courses in college . . . like 40 years ago! I'm a facilities manager, not an engineer.

Let's say I wish to test the (vertical) strength of an assembly made up of a 4" schedule 40 pipe welded to a 12" x 12" x 3/4" base plate which can be fixed to an 8" thick concrete drive using 4 - 3/4" wedge anchors. The top of the pipe has a 6" x 6" x 1/2" plate welded to it and there is a 3” loop made of 3/4" steel rod welded into two holes in the top plate.

Rather than trying to design and fabricate an A-frame or other type of stiff frame to pull vertically, I was thinking perhaps a wide flange beam may work? My idea is to bolt a 16 foot long W12x14 to a fixed pylon. Looking at a simple diagram, the pylon/vertical spacer would be on the left. The assembly being tested would be at the midpoint of the beam, 7 1/2 feet from each end support . On the right side of the beam, a bottle jack of sufficient size with an oil filled 0 - 10,000 lb gauge would be placed under the beam, perhaps also on a spacer if needed. The test assembly could then be attached with 3/8" 7/19 aircraft cable thru the top loop and around the beam above, perhaps with 2 or more loops to decrease any stretch in the cable?