Thread: Pipe flow calcs--help please!

Associate Engineer

Pipe flow calcs--help please!

Hi guys,

I am an engineering intern working for an oil company this summer. My project is to design a pipeline and gathering system to transfer saltwater from 10 central tank batteries to a central disposal site. Each tank battery will have a pump. I have done a few preliminary pipe calculations and have contacted our pipe vendor to get price estimates. The sales rep I talked to scoffed at my flow calcs, though, when he heard what I wanted and was trying to do. I will list my basic calculations below. Am I missing something, or can you guys find any significant mistakes in my calculations?

Material: HDPE spoolable pipe, with a Hazen-Williams C factor of 150
    Distance: 36,000 ft
    Change in elevation: none (to make things easy)
    Fluid density: 1181 kg/m^3 (it is a very salty brine)
    Viscosity: 1.2 cP
    Pipe Diameter: 3.9" ID

Requirements: 2400 BBL/DAY capacity. I figured on 150% safety net, so 3200 BBL/DAY. Once again, for ease, I assumed that 3200 BBL/DAY divided equally into the 10 central tank batteries (CTBs), thus, 320 BBL/DAY/CTB. The head engineer wants the pumps running no more than 6 hours per day. Additionally, he wants each individual pump to run no more than 2 hours per day (it could be for a solid two hours straight, or for 20 minutes here and there...the pumps will kick on and off from tank level sensors in the tanks at each CTB.)

For my calculations, I figured: 320 BBL/DAY/CTB pumped over a span of 2 hours = 160 BBL/HR/CTB